لتحديثات تسجيل المتطوعين انقر هنا

الإعلانات

التسجيل الافتراضي للمتطوعين مفتوح

آخر تحديث في 16 سبتمبر 2020

تم فتح برنامج التوجيه الافتراضي APIE وتسجيل التدريب في الفصل الدراسي في الرياضيات رسميًا على موقعنا! يحتاج الطلاب إلى دعم فردي أكثر من أي وقت مضى بسبب اضطرابات التعلم التي يسببها الوباء ، لذلك نحن بحاجة إلى مساعدتكم. هذه فرصة رائعة للتطوع بأمان من المنزل. ستبدأ هذه الفرص في أواخر سبتمبر أو أوائل أكتوبر حسب الحرم الجامعي. شكرًا لك على التفكير في التطوع مع APIE!

ملاحظة: التسجيل لفرص المتطوعين في المدرسة (غير تابع لـ APIE) مفتوح أيضًا. المدارس غير المدرجة لا تقدم فرصًا افتراضية للتطوع في الوقت الحالي.

COVID - تأثير 19 على APIE وطلابنا

آخر تحديث 17 أغسطس 2020

في هذه الأوقات المضطربة ، تواصل APIE العمل عن كثب مع Austin ISD حول أفضل طريقة لدعم الطلاب خلال العام الدراسي 2020-21. تاريخ البدء الحالي للعام الدراسي الجديد هو الثلاثاء 8 سبتمبر. يبدأ التقويم بأربعة أسابيع من التعلم عن بعد وفرصة للتعليم داخل الحرم الجامعي خلال الأسابيع الأربعة الأولى للطلاب الذين ليس لديهم إمكانية الوصول إلى تكنولوجيا موثوقة أو اتصال بالإنترنت . لمعرفة المزيد حول هذه التغييرات ، قم بزيارة أوستن ISD موقع الكتروني.

مثل المنطقة التعليمية ، نحن ندرك أن خطط العام الدراسي القادم يجب أن تعطي الأولوية لصحة وسلامة الطلاب والمعلمين والموظفين. سوف نتبع احتياطات أوستن ISD للمساعدة في الحد من انتشار COVID-19 لخلق بيئة تعليمية أكثر أمانًا لطلابنا. ما زلنا لا نعرف كيف ستتأثر برمجتنا بنموذج التعلم المختلط ، لكننا نواصل التخطيط لمجموعة متنوعة من السيناريوهات. سنبقي مجتمعنا على اطلاع بينما نتعلم المزيد من أوستن ISD.

النتائج الأخيرة من جمعية التقييم الشمالية الغربية (NWEA) أظهر أن "شريحة COVID" ، أو فقدان المعرفة المحفوظة من العام الدراسي السابق ، سيؤثر سلبًا على الطلاب في جميع المواد ، وخاصة الرياضيات. من المرجح أن يعود الطلاب بأقل من 50% من مكاسب التعلم في الرياضيات ، أي ما يعادل تقريبًا عام كامل خلف ما يمكن ملاحظته خلال الظروف العادية من العطلة الصيفية. إلى جانب الفجوات الأكاديمية ، سيواجه الطلاب أيضًا تحديات عاطفية واجتماعية ، حيث عانى الكثير منهم من الصدمات الناجمة عن الوباء. عندما تستأنف المدرسة ، سيحتاج الطلاب إلى اهتمام فردي ، ومع أكثر من 15 عامًا من الخبرة في التدريس والتوجيه ، فإن APIE في وضع جيد لتقديم هذا الدعم الذي تشتد الحاجة إليه.

على مدار تاريخنا ، تم تعديل APIE بسرعة لدعم أوستن ISD ، وتكييف برامجنا لاستهداف الاحتياجات المحددة. عندما أغلقت المدارس وتم اعتماد التعلم الافتراضي ، قام موظفو APIE بتحويل تركيزهم لتوفير الدعم عبر الإنترنت للطلاب في برنامج الاستعداد للكلية لدينا وأولئك المشاركين في GEAR UP مثل العديد من المنظمات غير الربحية ، تأثرت APIE مالياً بـ COVID-19. نتوقع أن تستمر هذه الضائقة المالية طوال الفترة المتبقية من العام وما بعده ، حيث يواجه العديد من شركائنا في العمل والداعمين الأفراد تحدياتهم المالية الخاصة. نحن نحتاج مساعدتك لضمان بقاء برامجنا في مكانها للطلاب هذا الخريف ، عندما يحتاجون إلى دعمنا أكثر من أي وقت مضى.

يتلقى شركاء أوستن في التعليم $450،000 من مؤسسة تكساس الكبرى لدعم إطلاق AISD الوظيفي / توسع P-TECH

سيعمل مشروع "بناء مسارات لنجاح طلاب تكساس" على إعداد المزيد من طلاب المدارس الثانوية لشغل وظائف بأجر معيشي بعد التخرج

منحة $450،000 من مؤسسة تكساس الكبرى (GTF) ستدعم جهود Austin Partners in Education (APIE) لإنشاء نموذج لتأسيس وتوسيع مبادرات الإطلاق الوظيفي / P-TECH في أوستن ISD على مدى السنوات الثلاث المقبلة. تزود برامج الإطلاق الوظيفي / P-TECH طلاب المدارس الثانوية بالمعرفة والمهارات وبيانات الاعتماد اللازمة للحصول على وظائف بأجر معيشي عند التخرج. يضمن الاستثمار في برامج إطلاق الوظائف / P-TECH قدرة المزيد من الطلاب على التنافس على وظائف مجزية في مجتمعهم.

من خلال مشروع بناء مسارات لنجاح طلاب تكساس ، تخطط APIE لإجراء بحث وتطوير إطار نموذجي لتلبية الاحتياجات وتحديد فجوات الموارد وإنشاء استراتيجيات مخصصة لتعزيز الدعم الأكاديمي بدءًا من مستوى المدرسة المتوسطة. سيساعد هذا في بناء مجموعة من الطلاب الذين يمكنهم بعد ذلك أن يأخذوا بنجاح دورات دراسية على مستوى الكلية في المدرسة الثانوية ويخرجون من برنامج Career Launch / P-TECH بدرجة مشارك و / أو اعتماد خاص بالصناعة.

على الرغم من عدم اليقين الذي يحيط بالعام الدراسي القادم بسبب COVID-19 ، فإن البرنامج سيتقدم كما هو مخطط له هذا الخريف. تعمل APIE على الإغلاق مع المنطقة التعليمية وشركاء الأعمال في المشروع لتكييف طرق التدريس لسيناريوهات التدريس الشخصية والهجينة وعبر الإنترنت.

ستركز APIE أبحاث مشروعها على مدرسة Akins Early College High School (ECHS) ، التي ستطلق اثنين من برامج Career Launch / P-TECH الجديدة هذا الخريف: برنامج عقاري بالشراكة مع مجلس أوستن للوسطاء العقاريين وبرنامج تعليمي بالشراكة مع أوستن ISD وثلاث جامعات محلية. لدى APIE شراكة راسخة مع Akins ECHS وقد قدمت برنامج الاستعداد للكلية في هذا الحرم الجامعي على مدار السنوات العشر الماضية.

قالت تينا سالازار ، مديرة مدرسة Akins Early College High School: "لقد رأينا نتائج مثبتة عامًا بعد عام لطلابنا في برنامج الاستعداد للكلية التابع لـ APIE ونعتبره عاملاً كبيرًا في نجاح الحرم الجامعي لدينا". "مع بدء المرحلة التالية من برامج إطلاق الوظائف / P-TECH في Akins هذا الخريف ، أصبحت المساعدة من APIE أكثر أهمية من أي وقت مضى وستسمح لنا بالارتقاء بشراكتنا إلى مستوى جديد."

يعكس المشروع التزام APIE بدعم الطلاب الذين يواجهون حواجز نظامية كبيرة. في Akins ECHS ، ثاني أكبر مدرسة ثانوية في أوستن ISD مع أكثر من 2700 طالب ، 77.7 في المائة من الجسم الطلابي من أصل إسباني و 5.7 في المائة من السود. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، 61.2 بالمائة من المحرومين اقتصاديًا ، و 19 بالمائة من متعلمي اللغة الإنجليزية ، و 12.8 بالمائة يشاركون في التعليم الخاص.

"تتطلب ثلثا الوظائف في وسط تكساس أوراق اعتماد ما بعد المرحلة الثانوية ، إلا أن 42 بالمائة فقط من الشباب أكملوا هذه المتطلبات ، غالبًا بسبب العوائق الكبيرة التي يواجهونها ،" كاثي جونز ، دكتوراه. والمدير التنفيذي لشركة أوستن بارتنرز في التعليم ، قال. "من خلال المشاركة في برامج Career Launch / P-TECH ، ستتاح للطلاب الفرصة لكسب ائتمان المدرسة الثانوية والكلية أثناء الانخراط في خبرات التعلم القائمة على العمل والتي من شأنها أن تعدهم لملاحقات ما بعد المرحلة الثانوية. إن تطوير نموذج برنامج مفصل يعني أن عملنا لديه القدرة على التأثير على الطلاب ليس فقط في أوستن ISD ، ولكن أيضًا في جميع أنحاء ولاية تكساس. نحن ممتنون لمؤسسة Greater Texas Foundation لدعمها عملنا والتزامها طويل الأمد تجاه الطلاب الذين نخدمهم ".

APIE تقف مع جامعة أوستن ISD لدعم الطلاب السود

#BlackLives المادة

تذكرنا الأحداث المزعجة التي وقعت في بلدنا وفي مجتمعنا بالظلم العميق الذي لا يزال مستمراً في مجتمعنا. نظل ثابتين في دعمنا للطلاب السود ، الذين يواجهون حواجز نظامية كل يوم ، ونعلم أنه يجب علينا فعل المزيد. نحن ندرك أهمية تثقيف أنفسنا ومجتمعاتنا بنشاط ورفع الأصوات السوداء في هذه المحادثات. بصفتنا شريكًا في أوستن ISD ، ننضم إليهم في التعهد بضمان احترام الطلاب ودعمهم وضمان الإنصاف والعدالة.

بيان أوستن ISD

arAR
en_USEN es_MXES viVI zh_CNZH tlTL de_DEDE fr_FRFR hi_INHI urUR ko_KRKO my_MMMY arAR

Click Here to Support APIE this Holiday Season

Announcements

Join Us for Giving Tuesday Dec. 1

Our lives have changed dramatically because of COVID-19. It’s been an especially big adjustment for our students, may of whom already faced barriers before the pandemic. They’ve had to quickly adjust to new virtual and hybrid learning models and may also require additional support in these challenging times.

Since the pandemic began, Austin Partners in Education has continued to support students. We quickly adjusted our College Readiness and GEAR UP programming to a virtual format last March; and since the fall semester began, we’ve provided over 1,700 hours of academic support to 1,200 Austin ISD students at seven high schools. Our volunteer-based Math Classroom Coaching and Mentoring programs also went virtual this fall, with over 300 virtual volunteers working with middle and high school students.

Help us keep showing up for students! This Giving Tuesday, kick off the season of giving by donating to support Austin ISD students. Your donation, large or small, will help us continue to show up regularly for students, giving them the care and encouragement they need to succeed.

Thank you for your continued support of APIE. Wishing you a healthy and happy holiday season!

Virtual Volunteer Registration is Open

Last updated September 16, 2020

APIE Virtual Mentoring and Math Classroom Coaching registration is officially open on our website! Students need individualized support more than ever due to learning disruptions caused by the pandemic, so we need your help. This is a great opportunity to volunteer safely from home. These opportunities will begin in late September or early October depending on the campus. Thank you for considering volunteering with APIE!

Note: Registration for School-Based Volunteer opportunities (not affiliated with APIE) is also open. Schools not listed are not offering virtual volunteer opportunities at this time.

COVID - 19’s Impact on APIE and Our Students

Last updated August 17, 2020

In these uncertain times, APIE continues to work closely with Austin ISD on how we can best support students during the 2020-21 school year. The current start date for the new school year is Tuesday, September 8. The calendar begins with four weeks of remote learning and an opportunity for on-campus instruction during the first four weeks for students who do not have access to reliable technology or internet connectivity. To learn more about these changes, visit Austin ISD’s website.

Like the district, we recognize that plans for the upcoming school year must prioritize the health and safety of students, educators, and staff. We will follow Austin ISD’s precautions to help reduce the spread of COVID-19 to create the safest learning environment possible for our students. We still don’t know how our programming will be impacted by the hybrid learning model, but we continue to plan for a variety of scenarios. We will keep our community informed as we learn more from Austin ISD.

Recent findings from the Northwest Evaluation Association (NWEA) show that a “COVID slide,” or a loss in knowledge retained from the previous academic year, will adversely impact students in all subjects, particularly math. Students are likely to return with less than 50% of learning gains in math, equating to nearly a full year behind what would be observed during normal conditions from the summer break. Along with academic gaps, students will also face emotional and social challenges, as many of them have experienced trauma caused by the pandemic. When school resumes, students will need individualized attention, and with more than 15 years of tutoring and mentoring experience, APIE is well-positioned to provide that much-needed support.

Throughout our history, APIE has quickly adjusted to support Austin ISD, adapting our programming to target identified needs. When schools closed and virtual learning was adopted, APIE staff shifted focus to provide online support to students in our College Readiness program and those participating in GEAR UP. Like many nonprofits, APIE has been impacted financially by COVID-19. We anticipate that this financial hardship will continue throughout the remainder of the year and beyond, as many of our business partners and individual supporters are facing their own financial challenges. We need your help to ensure our programs remain in place for students this fall, when they will need our support more than ever.

Austin Partners in Education receives $450,000 from the Greater Texas Foundation to support AISD Career Launch/P-TECH expansion

“Building Pathways for Texas Student Success” Project will prepare more high school students for living-wage careers upon graduation

A $450,000 grant from the Greater Texas Foundation (GTF) will support Austin Partners in Education’s (APIE) efforts to create a model to establish and expand Career Launch/P-TECH initiatives at Austin ISD over the next three years. Career Launch/P-TECH programs equip high school students with the knowledge, skills, and credentials needed to obtain living-wage careers upon graduation. Investing in Career Launch/P-TECH programs ensures that more students are able to compete for rewarding jobs in their community.

Through the Building Pathways for Texas Student Success Project, APIE plans to conduct research and develop a model framework to meet needs, identify resource gaps and create customized strategizes to strengthen academic support beginning at the middle school level. This will help build a pipeline of students who can then successfully take college-level coursework in high school and emerge from a Career Launch/P-TECH program with an associate’s degree and/or an industry-specific credential.

Despite the uncertainty surrounding the upcoming school year due to COVID-19, the program will move forward as planned this fall. APIE is working closing with the school district and project business partners to adapt teaching methods for in-person, hybrid, and online instruction scenarios.

APIE will be focusing their project research at Akins Early College High School (ECHS), which will launch two new Career Launch/P-TECH programs this fall: a real estate program in partnership with the Austin Board of Realtors and a teaching program in partnership with Austin ISD and three local universities. APIE has an established partnership with Akins ECHS and has offered their College Readiness program on that campus for the past ten years.

“We have seen proven results year after year for our students in APIE’s College Readiness program and consider it to be a big factor in our campus’ success,” said Tina Salazar, principal of Akins Early College High School. “As the next phase of our Career Launch/P-TECH programs begin at Akins this fall, help from APIE is more important than ever and will allow us to take our partnership to a new level.”

The project reflects APIE’s commitment to supporting students who face significant systemic barriers. At Akins ECHS, the second largest high school in Austin ISD with over 2,700 students, 77.7 percent of the student body is Hispanic and 5.7 percent are Black. Additionally, 61.2 percent are economically disadvantaged, 19 percent are English language learners, and 12.8 percent participate in special education.

“Two-thirds of jobs in Central Texas require postsecondary credentials, yet only 42 percent of young adults have completed these requirements, often because of the significant barriers they face,” Cathy Jones, Ph.D. and Executive Director of Austin Partners in Education, said. “Through participation in Career Launch/P-TECH programs, students will have the opportunity to earn high school and college credit while engaging in work-based learning experiences that will prepare them for postsecondary pursuits. The development of a detailed program model means that our work has the potential to impact students not only throughout Austin ISD, but also across the State of Texas. We are grateful to the Greater Texas Foundation for supporting our work and their long-term commitment to the students we serve.”

APIE Stands with Austin ISD in Support of Black Students

#BlackLivesMatter

The disturbing events that have taken place in our country and in our community remind us of the deep inequities that continue to persist in our society. We remain steadfast in our support of Black students, who face systemic barriers each day, and we know we must do more. We recognize the importance of actively educating ourselves and our communities and elevating Black voices in these conversations. As a partner of Austin ISD, we join with them in pledging to ensure students are respected, supported, and guaranteed equity and justice.

Austin ISD’s Statement

en_USEN
es_MXES viVI zh_CNZH tlTL de_DEDE fr_FRFR hi_INHI urUR ko_KRKO arAR my_MMMY en_USEN