志愿者注册更新 点击这里

公告内容

虚拟志愿者注册已开放

上次更新时间2020年9月16日

APIE虚拟辅导和数学课堂辅导注册已在我们的网站上正式开放!由于大流行引起的学习中断,学生比以往任何时候都需要个性化的支持,因此我们需要您的帮助。这是一个在家中安全地志愿服务的好机会。这些机会将从9月下旬或10月初开始,具体取决于校园。感谢您考虑使用APIE做志愿者!

注意:也可以注册“校本义工”机会(不隶属于APIE)。未列出的学校目前不提供虚拟志愿者机会。

COVID-19对APIE和我们的学生的影响

上次更新时间2020年8月17日

在这些不确定的时期,APIE继续与奥斯汀ISD紧密合作,以探讨我们如何在2020-21学年为学生提供最佳支持。新学年的当前开学日期是9月8日,星期二。日历将以四个星期的远程学习开始,对于无法使用可靠技术或互联网连接的学生,前四个星期将有机会在校园内授课。要了解有关这些更改的更多信息,请访问Austin ISD的 网站.

与学区一样,我们认识到即将到来的学年的计划必须优先考虑学生,教育者和教职工的健康和安全。我们将遵循奥斯汀ISD的预防措施,以帮助减少COVID-19的传播,从而为我们的学生创造最安全的学习环境。我们仍然不知道我们的编程将如何受到混合学习模型的影响,但是我们将继续针对各种场景进行规划。当我们从Austin ISD了解更多信息时,我们将使社区保持最新状态。

最近的发现 西北评估协会(NWEA) 表明“ COVID幻灯片”或上一学年保留的知识流失会对所有学科的学生产生不利影响,尤其是数学方面。学生返回的数学学习成绩可能会少于50%,这比从暑假开始的正常情况下的观察结果要晚整整整整一年。除学习上的差距外,学生还将面临情感和社会挑战,因为他们中的许多人都经历了大流行造成的创伤。当学校恢复营业时,学生将需要个性化的关注,并且凭借超过15年的辅导和指导经验,APIE处于可以提供急需的支持的良好位置。

纵观我们的历史,APIE迅速进行了调整以支持Austin ISD,使我们的编程适应已确定的需求。当学校关闭并采用虚拟学习时,APIE员工将重点转移到为我们的大学准备课程的学生和参与GEAR UP的学生提供在线支持。像许多非营利组织一样,APIE受到COVID-19的财务影响。我们预计,由于我们的许多业务合作伙伴和个人支持者都面临着自己的财务挑战,因此这种财务困难将持续到整个今年的剩余时间。 我们需要您的帮助 确保我们的计划在今年秋天留给学生,那时他们比以往任何时候都需要我们的支持。

奥斯汀教育合作伙伴从大德克萨斯基金会获得$450,000,以支持AISD职业发展/ P-TECH扩展

“为德克萨斯学生成功建立道路”项目将为毕业后更多的高中生从事谋生职业做准备

来自美国的$450,000赠款 大德克萨斯基金会 (GTF)将支持奥斯汀教育合作伙伴(APIE)的努力,以建立一种模型来建立和扩展 奥斯丁ISD 在接下来的三年中。职业发展/ P-TECH计划为高中学生提供了毕业后获得生活工资职业所需的知识,技能和资格证书。投资于职业发展/ P-TECH计划可确保更多学生能够竞争其所在社区的有酬工作。

APIE通过“德克萨斯州学生成功之路”的建立计划,进行研究和开发一个模型框架,以满足需求,发现资源缺口并制定定制化的战略,以加强从中学阶段开始的学术支持。这将有助于建立学生流水线,然后他们可以成功地在高中上大学课程,并从具有副学士学位和/或特定行业证书的职业发展/ P-TECH计划中脱颖而出。

尽管由于COVID-19导致下一学年的不确定性,该计划仍将按计划于今年秋天进行。 APIE正在与学区和项目业务合作伙伴紧密合作,以针对现场,混合和在线教学场景调整教学方法。

APIE将把重点放在他们的项目研究上 阿金斯早期学院高中 (ECHS),它将在今年秋天启动两个新的Career Launch / P-TECH计划:与 奥斯汀房地产经纪人委员会 与奥斯丁ISD和三所当地大学合作的教学计划。 APIE与Akins ECHS建立了牢固的合作伙伴关系,并在过去十年中在该校园提供了其大学入学准备计划。

阿肯斯早期学院高中校长蒂娜·萨拉萨尔(Tina Salazar)说:“我们在APIE的大学准备项目中年复一年地看到了可靠的成绩,并认为这是我们校园成功的重要因素。” “随着我们的职业生涯启动/ P-TECH计划的下一阶段于今年秋天在Akins开始,APIE的帮助比以往任何时候都更加重要,这将使我们将我们的合作伙伴关系提升到一个新的水平。”

该项目反映了APIE对支持面临重大系统障碍的学生的承诺。在Akins ECHS,奥斯丁ISD的第二大中学,有2700多名学生,学生中西班牙裔占77.7%,黑人是5.7%。此外,有61.2%的人处于经济不利地位,有19%的人是英语学习者,还有12.8%的人接受特殊教育。

“得克萨斯州中部地区有三分之二的工作需要大专学历,但只有42%的年轻人完成了这些要求,这通常是因为他们面临着巨大的障碍,”凯茜·琼斯(Cathy Jones)博士说。奥斯汀教育合作伙伴执行董事说。 “通过参加职业发展/ P-TECH计划,学生将有机会获得高中和大学学分,同时从事基于工作的学习经验,这将为他们为中学后的学习做好准备。详细计划模型的开发意味着我们的工作不仅可以影响整个奥斯丁ISD的学生,而且还可以影响整个德克萨斯州的学生。我们感谢大德克萨斯基金会为我们的工作提供支持以及他们对所服务学生的长期承诺。”

APIE与奥斯汀ISD一起支持黑人学生

#BlackLivesMatter

在我们国家和我们社区中发生的令人不安的事件使我们想起了在我们的社会中继续存在的严重不平等现象。我们仍然坚定地支持黑人学生,他们每天都面临着系统性的障碍,我们知道我们必须做更多的事情。我们认识到在这些对话中积极教育自己和社区以及提升黑人声音的重要性。作为奥斯丁ISD的合作伙伴,我们与他们一道承诺保证学生得到尊重,支持和保证公平与正义。

奥斯丁ISD的声明

zh_CNZH
en_USEN es_MXES viVI tlTL de_DEDE fr_FRFR hi_INHI urUR ko_KRKO arAR my_MMMY zh_CNZH

Click Here to Support APIE this Holiday Season

Announcements

Join Us for Giving Tuesday Dec. 1

Our lives have changed dramatically because of COVID-19. It’s been an especially big adjustment for our students, may of whom already faced barriers before the pandemic. They’ve had to quickly adjust to new virtual and hybrid learning models and may also require additional support in these challenging times.

Since the pandemic began, Austin Partners in Education has continued to support students. We quickly adjusted our College Readiness and GEAR UP programming to a virtual format last March; and since the fall semester began, we’ve provided over 1,700 hours of academic support to 1,200 Austin ISD students at seven high schools. Our volunteer-based Math Classroom Coaching and Mentoring programs also went virtual this fall, with over 300 virtual volunteers working with middle and high school students.

Help us keep showing up for students! This Giving Tuesday, kick off the season of giving by donating to support Austin ISD students. Your donation, large or small, will help us continue to show up regularly for students, giving them the care and encouragement they need to succeed.

Thank you for your continued support of APIE. Wishing you a healthy and happy holiday season!

Virtual Volunteer Registration is Open

Last updated September 16, 2020

APIE Virtual Mentoring and Math Classroom Coaching registration is officially open on our website! Students need individualized support more than ever due to learning disruptions caused by the pandemic, so we need your help. This is a great opportunity to volunteer safely from home. These opportunities will begin in late September or early October depending on the campus. Thank you for considering volunteering with APIE!

Note: Registration for School-Based Volunteer opportunities (not affiliated with APIE) is also open. Schools not listed are not offering virtual volunteer opportunities at this time.

COVID - 19’s Impact on APIE and Our Students

Last updated August 17, 2020

In these uncertain times, APIE continues to work closely with Austin ISD on how we can best support students during the 2020-21 school year. The current start date for the new school year is Tuesday, September 8. The calendar begins with four weeks of remote learning and an opportunity for on-campus instruction during the first four weeks for students who do not have access to reliable technology or internet connectivity. To learn more about these changes, visit Austin ISD’s website.

Like the district, we recognize that plans for the upcoming school year must prioritize the health and safety of students, educators, and staff. We will follow Austin ISD’s precautions to help reduce the spread of COVID-19 to create the safest learning environment possible for our students. We still don’t know how our programming will be impacted by the hybrid learning model, but we continue to plan for a variety of scenarios. We will keep our community informed as we learn more from Austin ISD.

Recent findings from the Northwest Evaluation Association (NWEA) show that a “COVID slide,” or a loss in knowledge retained from the previous academic year, will adversely impact students in all subjects, particularly math. Students are likely to return with less than 50% of learning gains in math, equating to nearly a full year behind what would be observed during normal conditions from the summer break. Along with academic gaps, students will also face emotional and social challenges, as many of them have experienced trauma caused by the pandemic. When school resumes, students will need individualized attention, and with more than 15 years of tutoring and mentoring experience, APIE is well-positioned to provide that much-needed support.

Throughout our history, APIE has quickly adjusted to support Austin ISD, adapting our programming to target identified needs. When schools closed and virtual learning was adopted, APIE staff shifted focus to provide online support to students in our College Readiness program and those participating in GEAR UP. Like many nonprofits, APIE has been impacted financially by COVID-19. We anticipate that this financial hardship will continue throughout the remainder of the year and beyond, as many of our business partners and individual supporters are facing their own financial challenges. We need your help to ensure our programs remain in place for students this fall, when they will need our support more than ever.

Austin Partners in Education receives $450,000 from the Greater Texas Foundation to support AISD Career Launch/P-TECH expansion

“Building Pathways for Texas Student Success” Project will prepare more high school students for living-wage careers upon graduation

A $450,000 grant from the Greater Texas Foundation (GTF) will support Austin Partners in Education’s (APIE) efforts to create a model to establish and expand Career Launch/P-TECH initiatives at Austin ISD over the next three years. Career Launch/P-TECH programs equip high school students with the knowledge, skills, and credentials needed to obtain living-wage careers upon graduation. Investing in Career Launch/P-TECH programs ensures that more students are able to compete for rewarding jobs in their community.

Through the Building Pathways for Texas Student Success Project, APIE plans to conduct research and develop a model framework to meet needs, identify resource gaps and create customized strategizes to strengthen academic support beginning at the middle school level. This will help build a pipeline of students who can then successfully take college-level coursework in high school and emerge from a Career Launch/P-TECH program with an associate’s degree and/or an industry-specific credential.

Despite the uncertainty surrounding the upcoming school year due to COVID-19, the program will move forward as planned this fall. APIE is working closing with the school district and project business partners to adapt teaching methods for in-person, hybrid, and online instruction scenarios.

APIE will be focusing their project research at Akins Early College High School (ECHS), which will launch two new Career Launch/P-TECH programs this fall: a real estate program in partnership with the Austin Board of Realtors and a teaching program in partnership with Austin ISD and three local universities. APIE has an established partnership with Akins ECHS and has offered their College Readiness program on that campus for the past ten years.

“We have seen proven results year after year for our students in APIE’s College Readiness program and consider it to be a big factor in our campus’ success,” said Tina Salazar, principal of Akins Early College High School. “As the next phase of our Career Launch/P-TECH programs begin at Akins this fall, help from APIE is more important than ever and will allow us to take our partnership to a new level.”

The project reflects APIE’s commitment to supporting students who face significant systemic barriers. At Akins ECHS, the second largest high school in Austin ISD with over 2,700 students, 77.7 percent of the student body is Hispanic and 5.7 percent are Black. Additionally, 61.2 percent are economically disadvantaged, 19 percent are English language learners, and 12.8 percent participate in special education.

“Two-thirds of jobs in Central Texas require postsecondary credentials, yet only 42 percent of young adults have completed these requirements, often because of the significant barriers they face,” Cathy Jones, Ph.D. and Executive Director of Austin Partners in Education, said. “Through participation in Career Launch/P-TECH programs, students will have the opportunity to earn high school and college credit while engaging in work-based learning experiences that will prepare them for postsecondary pursuits. The development of a detailed program model means that our work has the potential to impact students not only throughout Austin ISD, but also across the State of Texas. We are grateful to the Greater Texas Foundation for supporting our work and their long-term commitment to the students we serve.”

APIE Stands with Austin ISD in Support of Black Students

#BlackLivesMatter

The disturbing events that have taken place in our country and in our community remind us of the deep inequities that continue to persist in our society. We remain steadfast in our support of Black students, who face systemic barriers each day, and we know we must do more. We recognize the importance of actively educating ourselves and our communities and elevating Black voices in these conversations. As a partner of Austin ISD, we join with them in pledging to ensure students are respected, supported, and guaranteed equity and justice.

Austin ISD’s Statement

en_USEN
es_MXES viVI zh_CNZH tlTL de_DEDE fr_FRFR hi_INHI urUR ko_KRKO arAR my_MMMY en_USEN