Annonces

Volunteer Registration for the 2021-22 School Year is Open

Last updated August 27, 2021

Registration for APIE Mentoring and Math Classroom Coaching (MCC) is now open! Thank you for choosing to volunteer with APIE as we work together to support Austin ISD students. If you have any questions about volunteering, please email volunteer@austinpartners.org.

Note: Registration for School-Based Volunteer opportunities (not affiliated with APIE) is also open. Schools that are not listed are not offering volunteer opportunities at this time. Please contact campuses directly with any questions you have about School-Based Volunteer opportunities.

APIE Selects Four New Board Members

Austin Partners in Education (APIE) is pleased to announce the selection of four new members to the APIE Board of Directors, who will each be serving for a three-year term. The board members include:

  • Rev. Dr. Daryl L. Horton | Pastor | Mt. Zion Baptist Church
  • Eric R. Kase | President/CEO | A+ Federal Credit Union
  • Angelia McFarland | Director, Product Marketing, Programs & Operations | Dell Technologies
  • Yasmin Wagner | District 7, Vice President | AISD Board of Trustees

As we welcome our new board members, we would also like to thank Arati Singh as she concludes her service on our board. We are grateful for her support of APIE and Austin ISD students.

APIE’s Board of Directors includes leaders from the education, business, and faith-based communities in Austin. It is the Board’s responsibility to provide guidance in the overall operation of APIE, and raise awareness of our services to gain additional support to enable us to fulfill our mission. Learn more about our new board members on our Blog. To see a full list of APIE’s board members, visit our site Internet.

APIE's Commitment to Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Austin Partners in Education is committed to diversity, equity and inclusion to ensure that as an antiracist organization we are moving our mission forward in an equitable way.   We are continuously reminded of the deep inequities that persist in our society and we recognize the importance of educating ourselves and examining our programs is crucial to being able to best serve our students.  To that end, we have partnered with The Inclusion Practice to engage in this important work in a sustainable way.  Our goal through these efforts is to support more positive and equitable outcomes in the workplace and for our students.

APIE remporte le Grand Austin Business Award 2020 d'Austin Chamber dans la catégorie à but non lucratif

Nous sommes honorés d'être un récipiendaire des prix d'Austin Chamber's Greater Austin Business Awards dans la catégorie Non lucratif. 2020 a marqué le 20e année le Chambre Austin a présenté les Greater Austin Business Awards. Ces prix sont décernés aux entreprises et organisations qui ont fait preuve d'une vision, d'une innovation et des meilleures pratiques commerciales uniques. Pour regarder la cérémonie de remise des prix vidéo du 8 décembre, cliquez sur ici.

Rejoignez-nous pour donner mardi 1er décembre

Nos vies ont radicalement changé à cause du COVID-19. Cela a été un ajustement particulièrement important pour nos étudiants, dont peut-être déjà des obstacles avant la pandémie. Ils ont dû s'adapter rapidement à de nouveaux modèles d'apprentissage virtuels et hybrides et peuvent également avoir besoin d'un soutien supplémentaire en ces temps difficiles.

Depuis le début de la pandémie, Austin Partners in Education a continué à soutenir les étudiants. Nous avons rapidement ajusté notre programme de préparation au collège et GEAR UP à un format virtuel en mars dernier; et depuis le début du semestre d'automne, nous avons fourni plus de 1 700 heures de soutien scolaire à 1 200 étudiants d'Austin ISD dans sept écoles secondaires. Nos programmes de mentorat et de coaching en classe de mathématiques sont également devenus virtuels cet automne, avec plus de 300 bénévoles virtuels travaillant avec des élèves des écoles intermédiaires et secondaires.

Aidez-nous à continuer à nous présenter aux étudiants! Ce mardi des dons, lancez la saison des dons par faire un don pour soutenir les étudiants d'Austin ISD. Votre don, grand ou petit, nous aidera à continuer à nous présenter régulièrement aux étudiants, en leur donnant les soins et les encouragements dont ils ont besoin pour réussir.

Merci pour votre soutien continu à l'APIE. En vous souhaitant de bonnes et bonnes fêtes de fin d'année!

L'inscription des volontaires virtuels est ouverte

Dernière mise à jour le 16 septembre 2020

L'inscription au mentorat virtuel et au coaching en classe de mathématiques de l'APIE est officiellement ouverte sur notre site Web! Les étudiants ont plus que jamais besoin d'un soutien personnalisé en raison des perturbations d'apprentissage causées par la pandémie, nous avons donc besoin de votre aide. C'est une excellente occasion de faire du bénévolat en toute sécurité depuis la maison. Ces opportunités débuteront fin septembre ou début octobre selon le campus. Merci d'avoir envisagé de faire du bénévolat avec l'APIE!

Remarque: les inscriptions aux opportunités de bénévolat en milieu scolaire (non affiliées à l'APIE) sont également ouvertes. Les écoles non répertoriées n'offrent pas de possibilités de bénévolat virtuel pour le moment.

COVID - L'impact des années 19 sur l'APIE et nos étudiants

Dernière mise à jour le 17 août 2020

En ces temps incertains, l'APIE continue de travailler en étroite collaboration avec Austin ISD sur la meilleure façon de soutenir les étudiants pendant l'année scolaire 2020-2021. La date de début actuelle de la nouvelle année scolaire est le mardi 8 septembre. Le calendrier commence par quatre semaines d'apprentissage à distance et une opportunité d'enseignement sur le campus pendant les quatre premières semaines pour les étudiants qui n'ont pas accès à une technologie fiable ou à une connexion Internet . Pour en savoir plus sur ces changements, visitez Austin ISD's site Internet.

Comme le district, nous reconnaissons que les plans pour la prochaine année scolaire doivent donner la priorité à la santé et à la sécurité des élèves, des éducateurs et du personnel. Nous suivrons les précautions d'Austin ISD pour aider à réduire la propagation du COVID-19 afin de créer l'environnement d'apprentissage le plus sûr possible pour nos étudiants. Nous ne savons toujours pas comment notre programmation sera affectée par le modèle d'apprentissage hybride, mais nous continuons à planifier une variété de scénarios. Nous tiendrons notre communauté informée à mesure que nous en apprendrons davantage sur Austin ISD.

Les conclusions récentes de la Association d'évaluation du Nord-Ouest (NWEA) montrent qu'une «diapositive COVID», ou une perte de connaissances conservées de l'année scolaire précédente, aura un impact négatif sur les élèves dans toutes les matières, en particulier les mathématiques. Les étudiants sont susceptibles de revenir avec moins de 50% de gains d'apprentissage en mathématiques, ce qui équivaut à près d'une année complète de retard par rapport à ce qui serait observé dans des conditions normales à partir de la pause estivale. Outre les lacunes scolaires, les étudiants seront également confrontés à des défis émotionnels et sociaux, car beaucoup d'entre eux ont subi des traumatismes causés par la pandémie. À la reprise de l'école, les étudiants auront besoin d'une attention personnalisée et, avec plus de 15 ans d'expérience en tutorat et en mentorat, l'APIE est bien placé pour fournir ce soutien indispensable.

Tout au long de notre histoire, l'APIE s'est rapidement adaptée pour soutenir Austin ISD, en adaptant notre programmation aux besoins identifiés. Lorsque les écoles ont fermé et que l'apprentissage virtuel a été adopté, le personnel de l'APIE a changé son orientation pour fournir un soutien en ligne aux étudiants de notre programme College Readiness et à ceux qui participent à GEAR UP. Comme de nombreuses organisations à but non lucratif, l'APIE a été affectée financièrement par COVID-19. Nous prévoyons que ces difficultés financières se poursuivront pendant le reste de l'année et au-delà, car bon nombre de nos partenaires commerciaux et donateurs individuels sont confrontés à leurs propres défis financiers. Nous avons besoin de votre aide pour nous assurer que nos programmes restent en place pour les étudiants cet automne, alors qu'ils auront plus que jamais besoin de notre soutien.

Austin Partners in Education reçoit $450,000 de la Greater Texas Foundation pour soutenir le lancement de carrière de l'AISD / l'expansion de P-TECH

Le projet «Building Pathways for Texas Student Success» préparera davantage d'élèves du secondaire à des carrières rémunérées après l'obtention de leur diplôme

Une subvention de $450,000 du Greater Texas Foundation (GTF) soutiendra les efforts d'Austin Partners in Education (APIE) pour créer un modèle permettant d'établir et d'étendre les initiatives de lancement de carrière / P-TECH à Austin ISD au cours des trois prochaines années. Les programmes Lancement de carrière / P-TECH donnent aux élèves du secondaire les connaissances, les compétences et les titres de compétences nécessaires pour obtenir une carrière à salaire décent après l'obtention de leur diplôme. Investir dans les programmes de lancement de carrière / P-TECH garantit que plus d'étudiants sont en mesure de concourir pour des emplois enrichissants dans leur communauté.

Dans le cadre du projet Building Pathways for Texas Student Success, l'APIE prévoit de mener des recherches et de développer un cadre modèle pour répondre aux besoins, identifier les lacunes en matière de ressources et créer des stratégies personnalisées pour renforcer le soutien scolaire à partir du niveau intermédiaire. Cela aidera à construire un pipeline d'étudiants qui pourront ensuite suivre avec succès des cours de niveau collégial au lycée et sortir d'un programme de lancement de carrière / P-TECH avec un diplôme d'associé et / ou un diplôme spécifique à l'industrie.

Malgré l'incertitude entourant la prochaine année scolaire en raison du COVID-19, le programme avancera comme prévu cet automne. L'APIE travaille en étroite collaboration avec le district scolaire et les partenaires commerciaux du projet pour adapter les méthodes d'enseignement aux scénarios d'enseignement en personne, hybrides et en ligne.

L'APIE concentrera ses recherches de projet sur École secondaire Akins Early College (ECHS), qui lancera cet automne deux nouveaux programmes Career Launch / P-TECH: un programme immobilier en partenariat avec le Conseil des agents immobiliers d'Austin et un programme d'enseignement en partenariat avec Austin ISD et trois universités locales. APIE a établi un partenariat avec Akins ECHS et a offert son programme de préparation à l'université sur ce campus au cours des dix dernières années.

«Nous avons vu des résultats prouvés année après année pour nos étudiants du programme de préparation à l'université de l'APIE et nous considérons que c'est un facteur important dans la réussite de notre campus», a déclaré Tina Salazar, directrice de l'Akins Early College High School. «Alors que la prochaine phase de nos programmes Lancement de carrière / P-TECH débute chez Akins cet automne, l'aide de l'APIE est plus importante que jamais et nous permettra de porter notre partenariat à un nouveau niveau.

Le projet reflète l'engagement de l'APIE à soutenir les étudiants confrontés à d'importants obstacles systémiques. À Akins ECHS, le deuxième plus grand lycée d'Austin ISD avec plus de 2 700 étudiants, 77,7% des étudiants sont hispaniques et 5,7% sont noirs. En outre, 61,2% sont économiquement défavorisés, 19% apprennent l'anglais et 12,8% participent à l'éducation spéciale.

«Les deux tiers des emplois dans le centre du Texas exigent un diplôme d'études postsecondaires, mais seulement 42 pour cent des jeunes adultes ont satisfait à ces exigences, souvent en raison des obstacles importants auxquels ils sont confrontés», Cathy Jones, Ph.D. et directeur exécutif d'Austin Partners in Education, a déclaré. «Grâce à la participation aux programmes Career Launch / P-TECH, les étudiants auront la possibilité d'obtenir des crédits d'études secondaires et collégiales tout en s'engageant dans des expériences d'apprentissage en milieu de travail qui les prépareront à des études postsecondaires. Le développement d'un modèle de programme détaillé signifie que notre travail a le potentiel d'avoir un impact sur les étudiants non seulement à travers Austin ISD, mais aussi à travers l'État du Texas. Nous sommes reconnaissants à la Greater Texas Foundation de soutenir notre travail et leur engagement à long terme envers les étudiants que nous servons.

APIE soutient Austin ISD pour soutenir les étudiants noirs

#BlackLivesMatter

Les événements inquiétants qui ont eu lieu dans notre pays et dans notre communauté nous rappellent les profondes inégalités qui persistent dans notre société. Nous demeurons fermes dans notre soutien aux étudiants noirs, qui font face chaque jour à des obstacles systémiques, et nous savons que nous devons faire plus. Nous reconnaissons l'importance de nous éduquer activement et de sensibiliser nos communautés et d'élever les voix des Noirs dans ces conversations. En tant que partenaire d'Austin ISD, nous nous joignons à eux pour nous engager à faire en sorte que les étudiants soient respectés, soutenus et garantis l'équité et la justice.

Déclaration d'Austin ISD

fr_FRFR

Click Here to Support APIE this Holiday Season

Announcements

Join Us for Giving Tuesday Dec. 1

Our lives have changed dramatically because of COVID-19. It’s been an especially big adjustment for our students, may of whom already faced barriers before the pandemic. They’ve had to quickly adjust to new virtual and hybrid learning models and may also require additional support in these challenging times.

Since the pandemic began, Austin Partners in Education has continued to support students. We quickly adjusted our College Readiness and GEAR UP programming to a virtual format last March; and since the fall semester began, we’ve provided over 1,700 hours of academic support to 1,200 Austin ISD students at seven high schools. Our volunteer-based Math Classroom Coaching and Mentoring programs also went virtual this fall, with over 300 virtual volunteers working with middle and high school students.

Help us keep showing up for students! This Giving Tuesday, kick off the season of giving by donating to support Austin ISD students. Your donation, large or small, will help us continue to show up regularly for students, giving them the care and encouragement they need to succeed.

Thank you for your continued support of APIE. Wishing you a healthy and happy holiday season!

Virtual Volunteer Registration is Open

Last updated September 16, 2020

APIE Virtual Mentoring and Math Classroom Coaching registration is officially open on our website! Students need individualized support more than ever due to learning disruptions caused by the pandemic, so we need your help. This is a great opportunity to volunteer safely from home. These opportunities will begin in late September or early October depending on the campus. Thank you for considering volunteering with APIE!

Note: Registration for School-Based Volunteer opportunities (not affiliated with APIE) is also open. Schools not listed are not offering virtual volunteer opportunities at this time.

COVID - 19’s Impact on APIE and Our Students

Last updated August 17, 2020

In these uncertain times, APIE continues to work closely with Austin ISD on how we can best support students during the 2020-21 school year. The current start date for the new school year is Tuesday, September 8. The calendar begins with four weeks of remote learning and an opportunity for on-campus instruction during the first four weeks for students who do not have access to reliable technology or internet connectivity. To learn more about these changes, visit Austin ISD’s website.

Like the district, we recognize that plans for the upcoming school year must prioritize the health and safety of students, educators, and staff. We will follow Austin ISD’s precautions to help reduce the spread of COVID-19 to create the safest learning environment possible for our students. We still don’t know how our programming will be impacted by the hybrid learning model, but we continue to plan for a variety of scenarios. We will keep our community informed as we learn more from Austin ISD.

Recent findings from the Northwest Evaluation Association (NWEA) show that a “COVID slide,” or a loss in knowledge retained from the previous academic year, will adversely impact students in all subjects, particularly math. Students are likely to return with less than 50% of learning gains in math, equating to nearly a full year behind what would be observed during normal conditions from the summer break. Along with academic gaps, students will also face emotional and social challenges, as many of them have experienced trauma caused by the pandemic. When school resumes, students will need individualized attention, and with more than 15 years of tutoring and mentoring experience, APIE is well-positioned to provide that much-needed support.

Throughout our history, APIE has quickly adjusted to support Austin ISD, adapting our programming to target identified needs. When schools closed and virtual learning was adopted, APIE staff shifted focus to provide online support to students in our College Readiness program and those participating in GEAR UP. Like many nonprofits, APIE has been impacted financially by COVID-19. We anticipate that this financial hardship will continue throughout the remainder of the year and beyond, as many of our business partners and individual supporters are facing their own financial challenges. We need your help to ensure our programs remain in place for students this fall, when they will need our support more than ever.

Austin Partners in Education receives $450,000 from the Greater Texas Foundation to support AISD Career Launch/P-TECH expansion

“Building Pathways for Texas Student Success” Project will prepare more high school students for living-wage careers upon graduation

A $450,000 grant from the Greater Texas Foundation (GTF) will support Austin Partners in Education’s (APIE) efforts to create a model to establish and expand Career Launch/P-TECH initiatives at Austin ISD over the next three years. Career Launch/P-TECH programs equip high school students with the knowledge, skills, and credentials needed to obtain living-wage careers upon graduation. Investing in Career Launch/P-TECH programs ensures that more students are able to compete for rewarding jobs in their community.

Through the Building Pathways for Texas Student Success Project, APIE plans to conduct research and develop a model framework to meet needs, identify resource gaps and create customized strategizes to strengthen academic support beginning at the middle school level. This will help build a pipeline of students who can then successfully take college-level coursework in high school and emerge from a Career Launch/P-TECH program with an associate’s degree and/or an industry-specific credential.

Despite the uncertainty surrounding the upcoming school year due to COVID-19, the program will move forward as planned this fall. APIE is working closing with the school district and project business partners to adapt teaching methods for in-person, hybrid, and online instruction scenarios.

APIE will be focusing their project research at Akins Early College High School (ECHS), which will launch two new Career Launch/P-TECH programs this fall: a real estate program in partnership with the Austin Board of Realtors and a teaching program in partnership with Austin ISD and three local universities. APIE has an established partnership with Akins ECHS and has offered their College Readiness program on that campus for the past ten years.

“We have seen proven results year after year for our students in APIE’s College Readiness program and consider it to be a big factor in our campus’ success,” said Tina Salazar, principal of Akins Early College High School. “As the next phase of our Career Launch/P-TECH programs begin at Akins this fall, help from APIE is more important than ever and will allow us to take our partnership to a new level.”

The project reflects APIE’s commitment to supporting students who face significant systemic barriers. At Akins ECHS, the second largest high school in Austin ISD with over 2,700 students, 77.7 percent of the student body is Hispanic and 5.7 percent are Black. Additionally, 61.2 percent are economically disadvantaged, 19 percent are English language learners, and 12.8 percent participate in special education.

“Two-thirds of jobs in Central Texas require postsecondary credentials, yet only 42 percent of young adults have completed these requirements, often because of the significant barriers they face,” Cathy Jones, Ph.D. and Executive Director of Austin Partners in Education, said. “Through participation in Career Launch/P-TECH programs, students will have the opportunity to earn high school and college credit while engaging in work-based learning experiences that will prepare them for postsecondary pursuits. The development of a detailed program model means that our work has the potential to impact students not only throughout Austin ISD, but also across the State of Texas. We are grateful to the Greater Texas Foundation for supporting our work and their long-term commitment to the students we serve.”

APIE Stands with Austin ISD in Support of Black Students

#BlackLivesMatter

The disturbing events that have taken place in our country and in our community remind us of the deep inequities that continue to persist in our society. We remain steadfast in our support of Black students, who face systemic barriers each day, and we know we must do more. We recognize the importance of actively educating ourselves and our communities and elevating Black voices in these conversations. As a partner of Austin ISD, we join with them in pledging to ensure students are respected, supported, and guaranteed equity and justice.

Austin ISD’s Statement

en_USEN
es_MXES viVI zh_CNZH tlTL de_DEDE fr_FRFR hi_INHI urUR ko_KRKO arAR my_MMMY en_USEN