We are excited to announce our partnership with Austin ISD to implement a new volunteer management platform at austinisd.voly.org. Please note that all volunteer registration for VOLY platform will start on August 8th, 2024. Austin ISD's VOLY portal will start accepting applications for specific volunteer and campus programs on August 15th, 2024.

We Salute You!

Each year, Austin Partners in Education hosts the AISD Salute Awards ceremony to recognize outstanding school staff, volunteers and Partners from across the district. It may have been because it was held on Cinco de Mayo or it could have been the exceptional planning of Paige Fillipp and Megan Weed, but this year’s Salute had a new energy. If you didn’t feel it at the beginning, you couldn’t help but get into the festive mood when the Reagan High School drumline escorted the 2008 Teacher of the Year Eric Cruz into the banquet hall! Once again, Mr. Cruz gave a moving speech before announcing the 2009 Teacher of the Year Cindy Stocking from Dawson Elementary.
APIE Coordinator of the Year

Winner: Barbara Rodgers, Wooldridge Elementary

It has been a pleasure to work with Barbara over the last two years. She is greatly committed to the students at Wooldridge Elementary and is phenomenal at engaging student organizations in the mentor program each year. She currently supervises approximately 50 mentors as well as other volunteers, tutors and Partners at Wooldridge. Thank you Barbara for your tireless support of these children!

Nancy Carssow-Lehmann, Lanier High School
Christine Liguez-Alvarez, Oak Springs Elementary
Janie Orosco, Zilker Elementary
Cathy Requejo, Project HELP
Mayra Sigala, Hart Elementary
Kellie Trinidad, Hill Elementary
Stephanie Wilson, Highland Park Elementary
This year, each school was able to recognize the Mentor of the Year for their campus.
Andrews Elementary: Amanda Mayorga
Ann Richards School: Carol Denton
Barton Hills Elementary: JR Carter
Blackshear Elementary: Ron Collins
Brooke Elementary: Steve Curran
Brown Elementary: Barbara Yznaga
Campbell Elementary: Steve Knight
Doss Elementary: Jill Moore
Eastside Memorial High School: Joe Trevino
Garza Independence High School: Virginia Duke
Hill Elementary: Susan Hill
International High School: Faizan Subhani
Kealing Middle School: Valarie Cadena
LASA High School: David Journeay
Linder Elementary: Marc Brewster
Martin Middle School: Lacy Garner
Mathews Elementary: Pamela Hall
Mendez Middle School: Stephanie Young
Metz Elementary: David Gonzalez
Mills Elementary: LuAnn Patrick
Murchison Middle School: Ann Howard
O. Henry Middle School: Matt Nelson
Oak Springs Elementary: Sean McDonald
Overton Elementary: Blender Hill
Pillow Elementary: Debbie Keith
Reagan High School: Deborah Warren
St. Elmo Elementary: Ada Aguirre
Travis Heights Elementary: Terry Franz
Wooldridge Elementary: Milton Marvin

Salute is a very special night for everyone involved, but we also like to throw a more intimate gathering just for the volunteers and school staff that we work closely with at Austin Partners in Education. On May 21, we will be hosting the annual Volunteer Appreciation Party at our new office space to thank all of the amazing people who contribute to APIE programs. Make sure to check back for pictures at the end of the month!

Website Holiday Message - 400 x 700 px

Austin Partners in Education will be closed beginning Friday, December 22 and ending Friday, January 5. We will return to normal business hours on Monday, January 8. All emails, phone calls, and volunteer background check applications will be completed upon our return. Thank you for your patience and understanding. Happy Holidays!

Austin Partners in Education cerrará comenzando el viernes 22 de diciembre y hasta el viernes 5 de enero. Volveremos al horario comercial normal el lunes 8 de enero. Todos los correos electrónicos, llamadas telefónicas y solicitudes de verificación de antecedentes de voluntarios se completarán a nuestro regreso. Gracias por su paciencia y comprensión. ¡Felices Fiestas!